This building was constructed in 1877 to replace the original Provincial
Normal School, which was established in 1855. In 1909, the school's
name was changed to the Nova Scotia Normal College and the building
was used as a teacher's college until 1961. It is presently home to the
A good example of the Second Empire Period, the building at one time
had a cupola and turret, until 1951 when it was destroyed by lightning.