It was originally known as The Parade, a designation which reflected its use as a place to drill local militia units. During the 1850's, the name changed to The Common, as the area was used as a grazing site by men driving herds of cattle from outlying areas to Halifax. It was through the efforts of this local group that The Common became the Town's first (square) or park, with the historic visit in 1860 of the Prince of Wales.
In 1896, following such improvements as the addition of a fountain, bandstand and gravel walkway, the name was changed to Victoria Square to mark Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee.
As the years went by, the bandstand was replaced by a tourist bureau in 1954 and again in 1989 by the tourist bureau that you now see.
This being the centre of the community, some of Truro's oldest businesses were established in this area. It was not until the creation of Canada's first railway in 1858 connecting Truro and Halifax that the (hub) of Truro changed to Esplanade and Inglis Street, closer to the railway service.
Text Courtesy of Truro Development Corporation Ltd.